Upper Columbia United Tribes

The Upper Columbia United Tribes (UCUT) is an organization of five Indian tribes in the upper Columbia River Basin of the United States. According to information provided by UCUT, the organization, based in Spokane, exists to unite the member tribes for the protection, preservation, and enhancement of Treaty/Executive Order rights, sovereignty, culture, fish, water, wildlife, habitat, and other interests and issues of common concern through a structured process of cooperation and coordination for the benefit of all people.

The organization was formed in the late-1980s by the Coeur d'Alene, Kalispel, Kootenai and Spokane tribes. The Colville Tribes joined in the mid-1990s. The organization facilitates intertribal efforts to restore fish and wildlife, address declining funding for tribal programs, promote recognition of tribal sovereignty, and speak with a more effective voice for the interests of the tribes whose homelands include the upper Columbia River Basin.

Also see www.ucut.org.

This website was archived in 2018. Go to this page on the current site or keep browsing.

Contact Eric Schrepel with any questions or requests, thank you.